No Matter Where You Go, You Are Never Alone

IMG_3706

I survived 40 days with 40 strangers, traveling across 20 different cities, in 10 different countries. To say I was ready to come home is probably an understatement; but to say it was the trip of a lifetime is probably an understatement too.

I landed back on Canadian soil last Sunday, and now that a week has passed and the jet leg has finally ceased to exist in my life, I’m finally ready to share with you what this trip has taught me.

This trip was never just a vacation for me. It was never meant to be spring break on steroids. It was a chance to prove that I could push myself and not only survive, but thrive, all while experiencing a part of the world I may not have otherwise seen.

Reflecting upon the trip as a whole, I realized that while the trip wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, it was everything I needed.

This trip pushed me to my limits. It took me out of my comfort zone and threw all sorts of obstacles my way. I dealt with OCD, anxiety, drama and culture shock. Attempting to dodge all of these obstacles while trying to absorb all of the culture around me was difficult, but I managed. Lucky for me, I had my family back home ready to pick up the phone whenever I called, no matter what time of night. Not to mention finding a best friend amongst the 40 that not only accepted who I was but helped me overcome and conquer my anxiety and OCD attacks whenever they showed up.

While I got exactly what I wanted from this trip – proof that I am strong enough to make it on my own, push the limits, and come out on top – I reached that point in a way I wasn’t expecting.

I thought in order to prove my strength, I needed to do it on my own. I should have realized that just because I wasn’t in the same house as my mother, or 10 minutes away from my father, that they were still there. No matter where you are in the world, or how lonely you might feel, you are never alone. I feel so proud of myself for going on this adventure and coming out with so much gained. Just because I needed to reach out for support doesn’t make me any less strong, it merely makes me human.

I proved to myself that I can be pushed to the limit and come back even stronger. But I also learned that it’s okay to have someone there to catch you. We are stronger together than we ever are apart.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Perhaps this will inspire you to push yourself, see the world, and come back with more confidence, passion, and positivity than when you left.

If you do want to see the world like I did, visit EF College Break to see the amazing trips they have for your next great adventure.

Stay strong, stay beautiful.

Kenzie

Leave a comment