Positivity Leads to Happiness: My Choice Between Positive and Negative Forces in My Life

  
25 days into my trip of a lifetime. Last you heard from me, I had just began my journey across Europe. And last you heard from me, my panic and anxiety attacks were wreaking havoc. I am pleased to tell you that I am surviving; thriving even. 

I thought my problem was a lack of creature comforts that I rely on when I’m at home. That was part of the problem but only part. The prevention of the attacks was my problem.

I was always taught in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy that the key to making progress and getting better is prevention, not coping. I needed to find a way to relax, and enjoy my trip without allowing my attacks to be triggered in the first place.

The answer? Positivity.

You’d think I would have thought of that before hand, given my vow to remain positive and optimistic as often as I can, but it hadn’t even crossed my mind. Why? Well, because the issue wasn’t my positivity, it was the positive and negative influences that were surrounding me. 

Your surroudings can effect your emotions, just as the people around you can as well. 

I realized I had found myself with too many negative influences pushing against me, causing me to feel anxious and unsettled.  

The solution? In with the good, out with the bad.

I found someone who was a positive influence in my life, and on this trip, in every way. Her name is Holly and she became the positive influence that reminded me what good positivity can do for ones happiness.

This girl has been there for me for every good moment on this trip – gelato overload, bird whispering, long bus rides; and every bad moment – panic attacks, hospital visits, no wifi. And above all else, having a friend like her around has made this experience one filled with endless laughter and happiness.

 

Although the triggers for my OCD and panic disorders lie in waiting around every corner, knowing someone has my back takes all this weight off my shoulders. When that weight is gone, it doesn’t seem as scary anymore. 

This new found freedom has left me feeling grateful and overjoyed. Now I can truly enjoy these places that look like they’ve come straight out of a fairytale, like Austria, Germany and the Netherlands to name a few. I mean, look at these views.

 

Innsbruck, Austria

    

Neuschwanstein Castle, Germany

 

Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

So if you find yourself in a place of unhappiness, and you find nothing but positivity in yourself, take a look around you, and see if you can spot a negative influencer. 
Once spotted, rid yourself of it. You deserve nothing but happiness, negativity has no place alongside your joy.

As for me, I have two more weeks of this incredible journey left and I intend to spend every second of it in complete awe of my surroundings, taking in every experience I can get, all while keeping the negative out and the positive in.

Stay strong, stay beautiful.

Kenzie

2 thoughts on “Positivity Leads to Happiness: My Choice Between Positive and Negative Forces in My Life

  1. Good for you. I think that your struggles are leading you to revel in the great days we all have and not just coast. Nothing is for granted and your posts show that. Congratulations. Jane

    Like

Leave a comment