Bon Voyage! How I Am Stepping Out Of My Comfort Zone

  
I’ve been MIA, I know. I have a good reason, I swear! 35 hours I’ll been loading my suitcase into what my brother likes to call the Beige Experience (86′ Jetta) and heading off to the airport. Where am I of to? I’m heading out on a 40 day trip across Europe, thanks to EF College Break. 10 Countries, 14 stops, 40 travellers, 40 days. It’s going to be the trip of a lifetime!

 

That being said, it doesn’t quite excuse my absence. I’ve been stressed. Stress I haven’t felt in a long time. In addition to ending my internship a few weeks ago and being faced with my imminent future of unemployment (fingers crossed my skills and charming personality will dazzle some employer, somewhere), I’ve had to prepare for what’s going to be a huge challenge for me. This trip, while being a trip I will never forget, is also going to push me to my limits. My OCD and anxiety will be put to the test while I’m 7000 km from home. 

The comfort zone. No, I don’t mean the new lazy boy you just purchased. I mean the mental space we create for ourselves made up of patterns and routines that we do in everyday life that we are most comfortable with. Stepping out of your comfort zone is something encouraged often; to succeed in business, life, love, and to gain happiness that was not attainable in your comfort zone. 

I found this article on LifeHacker that explains why and how you should step out of that zone. For anyone inspired to step out of their comfort zone, I highly suggest checking it out! 

As for me, well I’m doing things a little bit different. I’ve been pushing my boundaries for many years now. Going to sports games when my anxiety doesn’t fair well in crowded places.  Or leaving 15 minutes late just to challenge myself and my OCD. Now these little tasks helped my anxiety a little bit, but they left my OCD in even more control of my life; and I was once told, in order to fight your OCD, you must challenge it. So, here I go. On a trip where time is of the essence and I am not in charge of how that time is spent. Some days I won’t have time to do my hair, sometimes the bus will run late, some how, I’ll be just fine. 

I know this trip will be a challenge for me but maybe, just maybe, it will be exactly what I need to push me farther down the road to recovery. 

I’m going to post as often as I can with what I’m sure will be hilarious and possibly thought provoking stories while I’m gone. 

But in the mean time, push yourselves. I don’t want to do it alone, and now you won’t have to either. 

Do something daring that you wouldn’t normally do (I suggest indoor skydiving, it’s a blast). 

  

Try a new restaurant. Be spontaneous. And then feel the empowerment that comes with stepping outside your comfort zone. 

                                                                                                                                                           Stay strong, stay beautiful.

                                                                                                                                                                                               Kenzie

Leave a comment